Lone Peak, Hurricane join elite company

Talon Shumway (21), Chase Hansen (15) and Brody Berry (14) were starters on Lone Peak's football and basketball state championship teams.

Lone Peak High School and Hurricane High School joined very elite company this school year by winning both the football and boys basketball state titles. It had only happened 19 times prior, but now that numbers stands at 21.

Nineteen different schools have pulled off the doubled, with Jordan and North Summit doing so twice.

Courtesy of Utah prep football historian George Felt, here’s a chronological look all the schools who’ve won football and boys basketball state titles in the same school year dating back to 1932.

Granite (1932-33)

Jordan (1934-35)

Jordan (1950-51)

Pleasant Grove (1955-56)

Dixie (1957-58)

American Fork (1961-62)

Davis, Kanab (1974-75)

Skyline (1976-77)

Lehi (1980-81)

Provo (1982-83)

Richfield (1984-85)

North Summit (1991-92)

Grantsville (1997-98)

Hunter (2003-04)

Juan Diego (2004-05)

North Summit (2008-09)

Timpview (2009-10)

Highland (2010-11)

Hurricane, Lone Peak (2011-12)

Leave a comment

DeseretNews.com encourages a civil dialogue among its readers. We welcome your thoughtful comments.